Azerbaijan's representative qualifies for finale of Eurovision-2016 Song Contest

# 10 May 2016 23:04 (UTC +04:00)

Baku-APA. Azerbaijan's representative at the Eurovision-2016 Song Contest Samra Rahimli has qualified for the finale of the contest, APA reports.

Tonight in the first show of this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, broadcast live from the Globe Arena, 18 countries took part in the first Semi-final in order to qualify for the 10 places available in Saturday's final.

After the performance of all participants the voting was taken. According to the results of voting Azerbaijan, Russia, the Netherlands, Hungary, Croatia, Austria, Armenia, Czech Republic, Cyprus and Malta will take part in the final.

The ten winners will shortly have a press conference where they will also draw their position to be in either the first or second half of the Grand Final.

The first Semi-Final contenders were:

  1. Finland: Sing It Away sung by Sandhja
  2. Greece: Utopian Land sung by Argo
  3. Moldova: Falling Stars sung by Lidia Isac
  4. Hungary: Pioneer sung by Freddie
  5. Croatia: Lighthouse sung by Nina Kraljić
  6. Netherlands: Slow Down sung by Douwe Bob
  7. Armenia: LoveWave sung by Iveta Mukuchyan
  8. San Marino: I Didn't Know sung by Serhat
  9. Russia: You Are The Only One sung by Sergey Lazarev
  10. Czech Republic: I Stand sung by Gabriela Gunčíková
  11. Cyprus: Alter Ego sung by Minus One
  12. Austria: Loin d'ici sung by ZOË
  13. Estonia: Play sung by Jüri Pootsmann
  14. Azerbaijan: Miracle sung by Samra
  15. Montenegro: The Real Thing sung by Highway
  16. Iceland: Hear Them Calling sung by Greta Salóme
  17. Bosnia & Herzegovina: Ljubav Je sung by Dalal, Deen, Ana & Jala
  18. Malta: Walk on Water sung by Ira Losco

The first Semi-Final concludes

The first ten finalists (beside those already known,Sweden, Germany, France, Italy, Spain and United Kingdom), will take part in the Grand Final of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest, which takes place on Saturday the 14th of May. Another ten finalists will be chosen in the second Semi-Final on 12th of May.