Baku agrees with proposal to hold meeting of Azerbaijani, Armenian FMs in Vienna - UPDATED

Baku agrees with proposal to hold meeting of Azerbaijani, Armenian FMs in Vienna - UPDATED
  • Clock-gray 11:59
  • calendar-gray 16 November 2017

Baku has agreed with the proposal to hold a meeting of Azerbaijani and Armenian foreign ministers in Vienna, Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry spokesperson Hikmat Hajiyev told APA.


He said that during a meeting of Azerbaijan’s Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov with OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs in Moscow, it was proposed to hold a meeting of Azerbaijani and Armenian foreign ministers as part of the 24th OSCE Ministerial Council in Vienna on Dec. 7-8.


It was proposed to hold the meeting with participation of OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs, he added.


Hajiyev noted that Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov's meeting with the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs in Moscow was of constructive and substantial nature.


“Concrete discussions were held on all the proposals on the negotiation table concerning the settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” said Hajiyev, adding that the Azerbaijani side is satisfied with the discussions.


He stressed that Azerbaijan always supports substantive, logical and concrete negotiations in order for the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict to be resolved soon and lasting peace and stability in the region to be ensured.   







A meeting between Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov and the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs has kicked off in Moscow.


At the closed-door meeting, the sides are discussing efforts to resolve the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict and the possibility of organizing a meeting between the Azerbaijani and Armenian foreign ministers.


Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office Andrzej Kasprzyk is also attending the meeting.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh. 




Other news