Armenian army fires at Azerbaijani positions using mortars

Armenian army fires at Azerbaijani positions using mortars
# 29 April 2017 08:16 (UTC +04:00)

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 120 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said on April 29.


Armenians were using 60- and 80-mm mortars and large-caliber machine guns when shelling Azerbaijani positions.


The Azerbaijani army positions located in Kamarli, Bala Jafarli, Gushchu Ayrim and Gaymagli villages of Gazakh district came under fire from the Armenian army positions located in Voskevan and Barekamavan villages of Noyemberyan district, and Aygeovit village of Armenia’s Ijevan district.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions located on nameless heights and in Alibayli and Munjuglu villages of Tovuz district were fired at from the Armenian army positions located in Chinari, Aygedzor and Mosesgekh villages and on nameless heights of Armenia’s Berd district.


The Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights of Gadabay district also underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Krasnoselsk district of Armenia.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh and Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Yusifjanli, Garagashli, Bash Garvand, Marzili and Javahirli villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Ashagi Veysalli, Ashagi Seyidahmadli, Garakhanbayli and Gorgan villages of Fuzuli district, as well as from the positions on nameless heights in Goygol, Goranboy, Tartar and Khojavand districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.