Azerbaijani MP: We should differentiate between Armenian military and civilian population

Azerbaijani MP: We should differentiate between Armenian military and civilian population
  • Clock-gray 11:45
  • calendar-gray 28 October 2016

Baku. Mubariz Aslanov – APA. Armenians who recognize the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan, respect the country’s Constitution, are not involved in crimes against he Azerbaijani people and stand ready to pay tribute to Azerbaijani martyrs in the Alley of Martyrs should be allowed to come to Baku, said Azerbaijani MP Zahid Oruj at today’s parliament meeting.


He noted that some Armenians living in different countries take a loyal position towards Azerbaijan.


“At times, Armenia has taken advantage of some individuals against our country. However, we should differentiate between Armenian military and civilian population,” he added. “Vahe Avetyan, a native of Armenia, who lives in exile in Switzerland, has recently visited Baku and apologized for actions committed by Armenians. He also expressed desire to visit the Alley of Martyrs in Baku.”


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Other news