Azerbaijan sends 700 applications to ECHR regarding April battles

Azerbaijan sends 700 applications to ECHR regarding April battles
  • Clock-gray 10:06
  • calendar-gray 10 February 2017

Azerbaijan has sent 700 applications to the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) regarding the damage caused by Armenians during the April battles, Azerbaijan’s permanent representative to the ECHR Chingiz Asgarov told APA on Friday.   


He noted that proceedings have been launched on the applications.   


Asgarov also said that important steps have been taken to return the body of national hero Chingiz Gurbanov from the Armenian side. 


“The efforts made by President Ilham Aliyev in this regard are undeniable. Azerbaijani lawyers have filed a complaint to the ECHR in relation to this incident,” he added.


On the night of April 2, all the frontier positions of Azerbaijan were subjected to heavy fire from the Armenian side, which used large-caliber weapons, mortars and grenade launchers. The firing resulted in deaths and injuries among the Azerbaijani population.


Azerbaijan responded with a counterattack, which led to liberation of several strategic heights and settlements.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.



Other news