Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan
# 04 March 2017 07:28 (UTC +04:00)

Armenia’s armed forces violated the ceasefire with Azerbaijan a total of 125 times throughout the day, using large-caliber machine guns, sniper rifles and 82 millimeter mortars (total 33 shells).


Armenian armed forces, located in Barekamavan, Dovekh, Voskevan villages and in nameless hills in Noyemberyan region, in Paravakar village and in nameless hills in Ijevan region, in nameless hills and in Chinari village in Berd region opened fire at the positions of the Azerbaijani armed forces located in Kamarli, Gushchu Ayrim, Bala Jafarli villages and in nameless hills in Gazakh region, in nameless hills in Gadabay region, in nameless hills and in Aghbulag village in Tovuz region.


The positions of the Azerbaijani army were also shelled from the positions of Armenian military units located near the occupied Marzili village of Aghdam region and Gorgan village of Fuzuli region, as well as from positions located in nameless hills in Goygol, Goranboy, Tartar, Khojavend and Fuzuli regions.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.