67 Russian regions to reopen for domestic tourists on July 1 — agency

# 05:20
27 June 2020

Russia’s 67 regions are ready to reopen for tourists on July 1, Zarina Doguzova, the head of Russia’s Federal Tourism Agency (Rosturizm), told reporters on Friday, APA reports citing TASS.

"Next week, on July 1, we will be launching tourism in 67 regions of the Russian Federation," she said adding that the restrictions obstructing holiday travel for Russians would be gradually lifted throughout the next week.

"We proceed from that fact that over the first week of July, the holiday season starts in the overwhelming majority of our country’s regions," she added.

Earlier, Doguzona said that the summer tourist season could start in most Russian regions on July 1, while hotels, health resorts and other accommodation facilities would reopen in 40 Russian regions this week. Russia’s river cruises will open on June 28.

In late December 2019, Chinese officials notified the World Health Organization (WHO) about the outbreak of a previously unknown pneumonia in the city of Wuhan, in central China. Since then, cases of the novel coronavirus - named COVID-19 by the WHO - have been reported in every corner of the globe, including Russia.

On March 11, 2020, the WHO declared the coronavirus outbreak a pandemic. According to the latest statistics, over 9,724,100 people have been infected worldwide and more than 492,000 deaths have been reported. In addition, so far, over 5,260,700 individuals have recovered from the illness across the globe.

To date, 620,794 coronavirus cases have been confirmed in Russia, with 384,152 patients having recovered from the disease. Russia’s latest data indicates 8,781 fatalities nationwide. Earlier, the Russian government set up an Internet hotline to keep the public updated on the coronavirus situation.